• Sub Banner 01

Cup Matches

16 NorCal Cup Matches 515x289The NCPGA has emerged victorious in both Hanna-Wehrman and Staedler-Jetter Cup Matches for the first time since 1996!

The exciting two-day tournament took place at Contra Costa C.C. in Pleasant Hill, Calif., and resulted in final scores of 10 1/2 - 9 1/2 and 17 1/2 -10 1/2 respectively. Big thanks to host PGA Professional Morgan Davies and PGA General Manager Len Dumas for their hospitality and to team sponsor Callaway for outfitting our players and helping us look our best.

Competition of PGA Professionals and Amateurs has a long history in Northern California; the earliest mention dating back to a report issued in May of 1923 indicating that Arthur East of Lake Merced C.C. was one of many professionals represented in "a projected team match against the amateurs of the district." Since then, there have been various iterations of the annual competition, the most recent of which are the Hanna-Wehrman and Staedler-Jetter Cup Matches. 

The first day of play in both the Hanna-Wehrman Cup and Staedler-Jetter Cup consists of two rounds—one round of four-ball match play (better ball) and one round of foursome match play (alternate shot). Final rounds on the second day of play consist of singles match play. 

17 Hanna Wehrman Cup Team2017 Hanna-Wehrman Cup Team
Paul Wilcox and Cameron MacGregor (Co-Captains), Dave Carr (Teal Bend G.C.), Philip Dawson (Catta Verdera C.C.), Brian Glosser (Rancho Solano G.C.), Mitch Lowe (TPC Harding Park), Jason Owen (California State University), Tim Sands (Oakhurst C.C.), Jason Schmuhl (Windsor G.C.), David Solomon (Ruby Hill G.C.), Steve Watanabe (The Bridges G.C.), and Don Winter (Castlewood C.C.)
17 Staedler Jetter Cup Team2017 Staedler-Jetter Cup Team
Paul Wilcox and Cameron MacGregor (Co-Captains), Dana Banke (Poplar Creek G.C.), Chris Bitticks (Tracy G. & C.C.), Jeff Brehaut , Mike Cook (Pine Mountain Lake C.C.), Dave DeLong (Boundary Oak G.C.), Don Giovannini (Pin High Golf Center), Dana Jetter (Spring Valley G.C.), Shawn Kelly (The Ridge G.C.), Shawn McEntee (Coyote Creek G.C.), Frank Panetta (CordeValle G.C.), Matt Plumlee (GolfTEC Foster City), Glen Stubblefield, Don Thames (Rancho Murieta C.C.), and Rodney Wilson (Sunnyvale G.C.)